The IBPS PO 2026 mains call letter is out, one day after the prelims result. IBPS put the main examination call letter up on 24.09.2026, and the portal states the download runs to 04.10.2026. The prelims result status came a day earlier, on 23.09.2026, for 7565 probationary officer and management trainee posts. You check it by logging in on the result page linked in the Important Links table below. The IBPS PO Prelims Admit Card 2026 download window closed earlier: the call letter link was open from 14 August 2026 and returned “Call letter Download is over” when checked on 28 August 2026. Anyone who downloaded it should keep the stamped copy, because it has to be produced again at the main examination.
Call letter availability
There are two links now, and they do different jobs. The main examination call letter is open until 04.10.2026. The prelims one is gone. IBPS keeps a call letter link up only until that exam is over, then replaces it with a closing page, and it never puts the old one back.
| Admit card question | Current official position |
|---|---|
| Main exam call letter | Open. Published 24.09.2026, download closes 04.10.2026, checked 25.09.2026 |
| Prelims call letter | Closed. The link returns “Call letter Download is over”, checked 28.08.2026 |
| When the link was open | From 14.08.2026 until the preliminary examination was over |
| Which examination | Online preliminary examination, CRP PO/MT-XVI |
| If you already downloaded it | Keep the stamped call letter and stamped ID copy, both are needed at the main exam |
| If you never downloaded it | IBPS does not reopen a closed link, so a missed prelims cannot be recovered |
| What opens next | The main examination itself. Qualified candidates download the call letter by 04.10.2026; the exam date and centre are printed on it, as IBPS has published no common date |
CRP PO/MT-XVI prelims exam pattern and negative marking
The three tests are separately timed, so time cannot be carried across sections. Note that the mark weight does not follow the question count, which is a detail many candidates get wrong.
| Prelims section | Questions, marks and time as printed in the notification |
|---|---|
| English Language test | 30 questions, 30 marks, 20 minutes |
| Quantitative Aptitude test | 35 questions, 30 marks, 20 minutes |
| Reasoning Ability test | 35 questions, 40 marks, 20 minutes |
| Total prelims duration | 100 questions, 100 marks, 60 minutes |
| Penalty for a wrong answer | 0.25 of the marks assigned to that question |
| Sectional qualifying rule | Each of the three tests must be cleared separately |
Important Links
| Resource | Direct Link |
|---|---|
| IBPS PO Prelims Result Status | Check CRP PO/MT-XVI prelims result status. Live, posted 23.09.2026 |
| IBPS PO Main Call Letter | Download the CRP PO/MT-XVI main exam call letter. Live, checked 25.09.2026. The page states the download runs 24.09.2026 to 04.10.2026 |
| Main exam information handout | Open the English information handout, or the Hindi handout. Both posted 24.09.2026, checked 25.09.2026 |
| IBPS PO Prelims Call Letter Page (closed) | Official link, now shows download is over |
| Download Detailed Notification PDF | Download CRP PO/MT-XVI notification |
| Download Updated Vacancy Annexure PDF | Download bank wise vacancy list revised on 27.08.2026 |
| Download Vacancy Corrigendum PDF | Download the 27.08.2026 corrigendum |
| IBPS CRP PO/MT-XVI Official Page | Open the official PO/MT-XVI page |
| IBPS Official Website | ibps.in |
| More Sarkari Naukri updates | Latest Sarkari Naukri 2026 updates |
IBPS PO 2026 vacancy bank wise breakup
These figures come from Annexure I as revised on 27 August 2026. One bank explains the entire jump. UCO Bank had reported nothing in July and has now indented 200 posts, which is exactly the 200 the total went up by. Union Bank of India is still marked not reported, so the number can move again before the main exam. Some banks count backlog vacancies in their figure, and none of it is final until provisional allotment.
| Participating bank | Total posts with SC, ST and OBC split |
|---|---|
| Bank of Baroda posts | 1900 total, SC 285, ST 142, OBC 513 |
| Canara Bank posts | 1500 total, SC 225, ST 112, OBC 405 |
| Bank of Maharashtra posts | 1100 total, SC 165, ST 82, OBC 297 |
| Indian Bank posts | 650 total, SC 122, ST 60, OBC 199 |
| Indian Overseas Bank posts | 550 total, SC 84, ST 41, OBC 148 |
| Punjab National Bank posts | 504 total, SC 76, ST 38, OBC 136 |
| Bank of India posts | 500 total, SC 75, ST 37, OBC 135 |
| Central Bank of India posts | 500 total, SC 75, ST 37, OBC 135 |
| Punjab and Sind Bank posts | 161 total, SC 24, ST 13, OBC 47 |
| UCO Bank posts | 200 total, SC 30, ST 15, OBC 54, newly reported on 27.08.2026 |
| Union Bank of India posts | Still shown as not reported, so no figure is counted yet |
| Grand total vacancies | 7565 posts, including 741 EWS and 3017 unreserved |
| Change since the July annexure | Up 200 posts from 7365, all of it UCO Bank’s first reported indent |
| Reserved for PwBD candidates | 86 HI, 80 OC, 77 VI and 91 ID, up by two in each category |
IBPS PO prelims exam date and important dates
IBPS publishes a tentative month-level schedule in the notification and confirms the exact date only on each candidate’s call letter. The stages after prelims are already mapped out.
| Recruitment milestone | Tentative schedule from the notification |
|---|---|
| Online registration window | 1 July 2026 to 21 July 2026 |
| Pre-examination training | August 2026 |
| Prelims call letter download | Released 14 August 2026 |
| Online preliminary examination | August 2026, exact date printed on the call letter |
| Preliminary result | September 2026 |
| Main examination | October 2026 |
| Provisional allotment | January 2027 |
Downloading the call letter
- Note that the prelims link is closed. These steps apply to the main examination call letter, expected September 2026
- Open the official IBPS website at ibps.in and go to the CRP PO/MT-XVI section on the notice board
- Click the call letter link for the examination you have been shortlisted for
- Enter your registration or roll number along with your date of birth or password
- Type the captcha shown on the screen and submit the login form
- Check your name, photograph, exam date, reporting time and centre address on the call letter before saving it
- Download the information handout from the same page and read it before the exam day
- Take a clear printout, paste a recent photograph on it and carry one more identical photograph to the centre
Which ID proof is valid at the IBPS PO exam centre
The name on the identity document must match the name on the call letter exactly. Candidates who changed their name need supporting proof in original, and two commonly carried documents are specifically rejected.
| Identity document | Accepted at the examination venue |
|---|---|
| PAN card or passport | Accepted in original with a photocopy |
| Aadhaar or e-Aadhaar | Accepted when it carries a photograph |
| Permanent driving licence | Accepted, but a learner’s licence is not |
| Voter card or bank passbook | Accepted when it carries a photograph |
| College or university ID | Accepted when issued by a recognised institution |
| Ration card | Not accepted for this selection process |
| After a change of name | Original gazette notification, marriage certificate or affidavit required |
If the call letter will not download
A closing message and a login failure are two different problems, and only one of them can be fixed. Check which one you are seeing before spending time on it.
| Download problem | What usually fixes it |
|---|---|
| Page says download is over | The window for that examination has closed and IBPS does not reopen it |
| Login credentials rejected | Use the registration number from the application, not the fee receipt number |
| Forgot registration number | Recover it from the same login page using your registered email or mobile |
| Page fails during peak hours | Retry later, but only while the window is open, since it shuts after the exam |
| Details printed wrongly | Raise it through the IBPS grievance redressal portal without delay |
| Candidate needs a scribe | Complete the scribe declaration form hosted on the IBPS scribe portal |
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I still download the IBPS PO prelims admit card 2026?
No. The link was open from 14 August 2026, and the IBPS login page now shows a closing message reading Call letter Download is over, checked on 28 August 2026. IBPS closes a call letter link once that examination is done and does not reopen it.
When is the IBPS PO prelims result expected?
September 2026 as per the tentative schedule in the detailed notification. The main examination call letter also falls in September 2026 and the main exam in October 2026.
When will the IBPS PO main exam call letter be released?
September 2026 as per the tentative schedule in the detailed notification, for candidates shortlisted from the preliminary result. It will be posted on the same IBPS notice board as the prelims call letter.
How many vacancies are there in IBPS PO 2026?
7565 posts across the participating public sector banks, as per Annexure I as revised on 27 August 2026. That is 200 more than the 7365 shown in the July annexure. IBPS calls the indent for 2027-28 indicative, and actual allotment is made on the vacancies banks finally report.
Which bank has the highest IBPS PO vacancy this year?
Bank of Baroda with 1900 posts, followed by Canara Bank with 1500 and Bank of Maharashtra with 1100. UCO Bank entered the list only on 27 August 2026 with 200 posts, and Union Bank of India is still marked not reported, so it contributes nothing to the total yet.
Is the preliminary call letter collected at the exam centre?
No. The preliminary call letter is not collected. It is authenticated and stamped by the centre staff, and the candidate must retain it with the stamped ID copy, because it has to be produced again at the main examination. This matters now that the download link has closed, since it cannot be printed again.